Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

In the garden today...

d067fea84197f2f0b985a662b8f180ad.jpg
...was this lovely comma butterfly (Polygonia c-album). Unlike many other butterflies, it stayed put when I started to take pictures with my phone, so I had plenty of time to get a reasonably good shot. At first its ragged appearance made me think it was near the end of its brief life (three generations live and die each season) but now I realise the torn edges are a characteristic of the species. Perhaps it was so drunk on the verbena pollen that it did not notice me. It never stopped to fold its wings, so I didn't get to see the characteristic white punctuation mark which gives this attractive butterfly its name.

Comments

  • When living in Australia, I was out almost every day taking photographs of the local flora and fauna but since I've got back I rarely if ever venture out and don't seem to notice what's going on around me, I guess I'm still cheesed off about being back here. Seeing this has shown what resplendent beauty there is so THANK YOU for there.

The comments are closed.